Tags

, , , , , , ,

Most weekends I bake something for my husband to take with his lunch during the week. We went through an extended granola bar phase before he asked for a change– could I make some cookies instead? I often lack the patience for cookies… you need to chill and find parchment and (heaven forbid) roll, or scoop, and then time and wait and do it again. I made bar cookies for a while as a compromise: brownies and chippy cookie bars, sometimes Scotcharoos or jam bars. One Sunday, as I prepped the pan for another batch of bars, my husband asked, quietly and kindly, if I could do something different. He was grateful for the bar cookies, but hoping for something new. Oatmeal cookies, or maybe peanut butter? We had a hard time deciding which ones, so I pulled out this recipe, which combines the best elements of those classics, plus chocolate chips for good measure. An everything cookie covers all the bases, and they are so delicious I don’t mind the chilling, dropping or waiting.

I have seen other wonderful versions of this cookie: my Aunt J’s famous triple chippers, my friend M’s dangerously good recipe with Speculoos (cookie butter) and white chocolate chips. My recipe uses ingredients I almost always have on hand; peanut butter chips are the only grocery list item, most of the time. My husband likes them because they are substantial, even filling, which is good when you are looking for a sweet snack that counts a little more than just a quick sugar rush. Of course, they taste great. The base of the cookie reminds me of Girl Scout Do-Si-Dos, the peanut butter and oatmeal sandwich cookies, enough that someday I would like to try making these smaller, without the chips, with a peanut butter filling… But I am getting ahead. And perhaps gilding the proverbial lily, since I find these everything cookies satisfying and tasty exactly as-is. A bit of peanut butter, a bit of chocolate, held together by just enough oatmeal to make them interesting… it’s a pretty perfect combination.

Next time you are in the mood to make cookies, especially if you find yourself waffling between oatmeal, peanut butter, or chocolate chip, why not avoid the decision by incorporating elements of all three? Give everything cookies a try.

everything cookies

Everything Cookies (makes 40-60 cookies)

  • 1 c. unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 3/4 c. creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 c. light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 c. flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 c. quick-cooking oats
  • 1 c. chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c. peanut butter chips

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter, peanut butter, salt, sugar and brown sugar until light and fluffy, about 5 mins. Stop the mixer and scrape the sides of the bowl at least once.

Add the vanilla and eggs and mix until combined, another 1 – 2 mins.

Sift together the flour and baking powder. Add to the bowl and mix just until combined, or almost combined.

Add both kinds of chips and the oats to the bowl. Mix on low speed until incorporated. If the thick dough is taxing your mixer, you can do this last step with a wooden spoon.

Cover the bowl and refrigerate your dough for at least 2 hours and up to 2 days. Don’t skip this step.

When you are ready to bake, preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Cover 2 – 3 cookie sheets with parchment paper or silicone liners.

Drop the cookies onto the prepared pans. I like to use a #30 scoop for these, which holds 2 T. dough. Using this size scoop yields about 40 generous cookies. Leave space in between the cookies for spreading. I put 10-12 cookies on a sheet. My oven does best baking one sheet at a time.

Bake for 12-14 mins. to yield soft-in-the-middle cookies. Add 2-3 mins. to the baking time for a crisper cookie. If you used a smaller scoop, start with 10 mins. and see how you like the results.

Slide the parchment off the pan onto a rack or the counter to cool. The cookies will keep in a covered container at room temperature for about 5 days. I like them best after a few days. They also freeze beautifully and will keep in the freezer for about 3 months.

