Tags

, , , , , , , ,

My Thanksgiving menus don’t include pumpkin pie this year. There are only so many meals and so many mouths… and there are so many desserts in demand. Apple pie, sweet potato pie, sometimes apple or spice cake, and a cookies-and-cream confection made by our friend M that we simply call Log. If I get my way, there will be pecan pie, with or without bourbon, and maybe with dark chocolate. (I am not usually part of the dessert-making team, though I do help with crust. My focus is on sides.) Pumpkin pie is always the “if we need more” choice, which kind of bums me out. I can’t think of Thanksgiving without thinking of pumpkin pie. And so, I came up with a twist on the classic that provides an easy, quick solution to check it off my list: pumpkin custard.

I’m not suggesting I’m the first person to make pumpkin custard, but it’s a why-didn’t-I-think-of-this-before solution. Quite simply, it’s my favorite pumpkin pie recipe with a bit more egg, baked without a crust. That might be another bonus for those of you searching for gluten-free dessert options– there’s not a hint of flour here, even as thickener. It’s creamy and lightly spiced; the brown sugar gives an autumnal caramel note, and yes, it does work with an equal substitution of coconut sugar.* I found through trial and error that it bakes best in a shallow dish, and putting a separate dish of water on the rack just underneath seems to even the cooking. It is perfect on its own, even better with a dollop of whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. And here’s a thought– it would absolutely work as a side dish. It’s not too different from mashed sweet potatoes or squash… especially if your family favors those dishes covered in marshmallows or brown sugar. Creativity, and sugar, is always welcome at the Thanksgiving table.

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, and there are so many nostalgic dishes I love to see on the table. I’ll make parsnip gratin to have with my mother-in-law and friends Thursday, and cranberry sauce, stuffing and rutmousse to share Friday. I’m looking forward to the unbelievable smoked turkey breast, cinnamony sweet potatoes and green bean casserole my friends make, and crossing my fingers for that pecan pie… I am so grateful to have a wonderful group to share the holiday with, and I am pouring lots of extra love and gratitude into this pumpkin custard. Happy Thanksgiving to all!

pumpkin custard

Pumpkin Custard

  • 1 1/2 c. unsweetened pumpkin puree
  • 1 1/2 c. whole milk
  • 2 T. bourbon (optional)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 c. brown sugar (or coconut sugar)
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1 T. raw sugar to garnish (optional)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Butter or spray a 2 1/2 qt shallow baking dish, or 9″ pie plate. Pour 2-3 cups of water into a separate ovenproof vessel and put it into the heating oven.

Place all ingredients except for the raw sugar in a high-powered blender or stand mixer. Mix until evenly combined. Tap the jar or bowl gently against the counter to release some of the air bubbles.

Pour the custard into your prepared baking pan and sprinkle the raw sugar over the top, if desired. Move the dish carefully into the oven, ideally positioned on the rack just above the water. Bake for 15 mins. Turn the oven temperature down to 325 degrees and continue baking for 30-40 mins., until the custard is set around the edges and has the slightest jiggle only in the center. Remove from the oven and cool. Serve warm or at room temperature, with ice cream or whipped cream if desired. Leftovers will keep in the refrigerator for 3-4 days.

*The coconut sugar is much less sweet, and provides a slightly different texture. But… the spices, pumpkin flavor and essence of traditional pumpkin pie is there.

Super Double Extra Bonus Recipe: Pumpkin Pie Pancakes

This is a real thing. The best pancakes I have had in years were a mashup of our standard pancake recipe with some pumpkin custard added in. Start with my apple ring pancake recipe. Remove 1 egg, 1/2 c. buttermilk and 1/2 c. sour cream. Add in 1 c. baked pumpkin custard. Continue with the recipe, with or without the apple rings. My husband gets all the credit for figuring this out and it’s so good I would make a recipe of custard just to get more of the pancakes.

