Tags

, , , ,

I posted a picture on Facebook of a batch of these chickpea patties I made for my lunch; the response was positive, and quick, and that made me very happy. Having thrown together that batch, I made another so I could more accurately record the ingredient quantities. It was tough work, being forced to enjoy them twice in one week! Anything for my readers. So what are they exactly? The easiest answer is that they’re a cousin to falafel, made with similar ingredients but with garbanzo flour instead of ground chickpeas. I used this recipe from Bob’s Red Mill as a guide, subbing in fresh ingredients for some of the dry herbs and leaving out onion powder because I didn’t have any. The sauce is a basic tahini sauce and the quantities are my own, though I could attribute inspiration to any number of cookbooks I use regularly: JerusalemOlives, Lemons & Za’atarArabesque, etc.

Chickpea flour is a great addition to your pantry: gluten-free, it has 6 g. of protein and 10% of your daily recommendation of iron in a 1/4 c. serving. I have been thinking about subbing a portion into savory breads to increase protein content, and have been experimenting with it as a sauce/soup thickener in lieu of all-purpose flour, as is suggested on the package. Because of the protein content, it’s not surprising that these patties, though they look small, are filling, and I found they satisfied my hunger longer than a similarly-sized vegetable patty. I frequently make sweet potato, spinach or eggplant patties for quick meals, but two of these, as pictured below, were almost too much for lunch, especially in combination with the tahini sauce. That’s a good thing! You can make them small and stretch that meal. I love finding easy-to-make, relatively inexpensive options like that; these particular patties are made with ingredients I almost always have in the pantry, which is also great.

In addition to eating the chickpea patties solo with tahini sauce, you can make a wonderful wrap or pita sandwich with lettuce, tomato, cucumber, onion or a combination of those. If tahini sauce isn’t your thing, send it my way and try tzatziki or even aioli. Yum! The ingredients as listed made enough for a generous dinner for me and my husband– served with whole-wheat pitas and cucumbers, radishes alongside– with one medium-sized patty left over. Writing about them is making me hungry for them again– do you think my husband would mind them three times in five days? Maybe not; he’s a fan, too. As I think you might very well be, if you give them a go.

chickpea patties with tahini sauce

Chickpea Patties with Tahini Sauce (makes 4-6 small patties)

For the patties:

  • 1 c. chickpea (garbanzo) flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • pinch of kosher salt
  • 1 – 2 cloves garlic, crushed (about 2 tsp.)
  • 1/4 c. finely chopped fresh herbs: flat-leaf parsley, cilantro or a mix (I use equal amounts of parsley and cilantro)
  • 1 T. fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 c. warm water

For the tahini sauce:

  • 1 -2 cloves garlic, crushed (about 2 tsp.)
  • 1 T. fresh lemon juice
  • pinch of kosher salt
  • 1/4 c. tahini (I like Joyva brand)
  • warm water

To make the patties, combine chickpea flour, baking soda, salt and cumin in a bowl and mix with a fork. Stir in garlic and herbs and then water and lemon juice. The mixture will be sticky but should be thick enough to dollop into patties that hold shape. Before doing anything, let it rest for ten minutes at room temperature.

While the mixture is resting, make your tahini sauce. In a small bowl, mix the garlic, lemon juice, salt and tahini; you’ll notice it starts out runny but thickens, almost seizes up, when mixed. That’s okay, that’s what the water is for. Add 2 T. warm water and stir to incorporate. Continue adding warm water, 1 T. at a time, mixing well in between additions, until the sauce reaches the consistency you like. When I am eating patties alone, I like the sauce thicker, almost like hummus. For sandwiches, I thin it out a little more. Taste and add more garlic or salt if you like.

When you are ready to cook the patties, heat a skillet over medium heat. Add a few teaspoons of canola oil if your pan is not reliably non-stick. Dollop the batter into the heated skillet, keeping in mind that you’re trying to make 6 small or 4 medium patties. Make sure there is space in between to allow you to flip them; cook in batches if your pan is not large enough to give them room. Cook for about 3-5 mins. until the patties are golden brown and firm enough to flip without a mess. Flip, press the top of each patty down slightly and cook for another 3 mins. Serve warm with tahini sauce or use 2 patties to make a wrap or pita sandwich. Cooked patties can be reheated and used, but they’re much better fresh.

