Tags

, , ,

This was a meal born of necessity and cravings– the former in the shape of a very tired handful of apricots and the latter for waffles, preferably crispy-edged waffles. Last week, my mother-in-law gifted me a sourdough starter and I have been thinking of waffles nonstop since then. Every time I would feed Marge (the starter) her flour and water, waffles on the brain. There were a few days when I thought Marge wasn’t going to make it, but she’s hardy stock and pulled through nicely. After several days of above-average growing, I had put her in the fridge to rest while I decided what to make first, and when to do so. When it got to 6:30 last night and I still didn’t know what was for dinner, Marge was the first thing I saw upon opening the fridge, and I knew it was waffle time.

Adding the handful of apricots was a bonus; I pondered all day what to do with that little bit of fruit. Once I decided to make waffles, I thought about making a compote to put over the top, but didn’t really have enough apricots for that and wasn’t keen to combine them with other fruit. Though the apricots were quite ripe, they weren’t at all mushy, really the perfect consistency for an add-in to the batter. I find that sometimes cooked or baked apricots take on a bitter flavor unless they are doused with sweetener, so the small bit of sugar in the batter and the nice pool of maple syrup I put on my stack of waffles was a good foil to prevent or offset that bitter note. If you’re outside of apricot season, a handful of blueberries or cubed apples would be just right for this recipe, as well.

Whether for breakfast or dinner, this is a great recipe; as long as Marge stays strong, I see many crispy-edged sourdough waffles in my future.

apricot waffles

Sourdough Waffles with Apricots (adapted from Serious Eats)

  • 1 c. flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 T. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c. whole milk
  • 8 oz. (by weight) sourdough starter
  • 3 T. melted butter
  • 2 apricots, pitted and diced (about 1/2 c.)

Sift together the flour, baking powder, brown sugar and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs and milk; mix in the sourdough starter. Add to the bowl all at once and then fold in the dry ingredients, apricots and butter. If the batter is too thick, add a bit more milk; too thin, add some additional flour. Allow the batter to rest, covered by a plate or towel, at room temperature for about an hour.

Heat and lightly grease a waffle iron according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Cook the waffles until golden brown and crispy-edged; transfer to a plate covered by a lid or kept on a low temperature in the oven until all waffles are cooked. This recipe makes about 8 waffles in my waffle maker. Serve with butter and/or maple syrup, as soon as possible. If you like, you can wrap, individually or in pairs, leftover waffles and freeze them; reheat them in the toaster or a low oven.

