Tags

, , , , ,

I got back from my beautiful, relaxing vacation late last Thursday night, Friday morning if we’re being honest. I worked all day Friday (what was I thinking when I planned that?) and had a very, very busy day Saturday with my monthly Backyard Barter event and my friend CJ’s glorious Strictly Seattle dance performance. It was such a fun day! By Sunday, I was good-tired and my body still wasn’t sure which time zone to pay attention to. Though I mustered enough energy to make a quick batch of salsa verde and a few jars of pickles, I knew that an easy dinner was in order; I didn’t have the focus to make anything complex. Here’s the salad we threw together; it was wonderful.

A morning trip to the farmers’ market netted us a giant, bright green head of lettuce and some ripe, fragrant tomatoes. We stopped at Wild Salmon fish market on the way home for a sockeye salmon fillet and gathered a few cups of blackberries while walking the dog mid-afternoon. A quick mustard vinaigrette tied the meal together with just the right accents of spicy Dijon and sweet honey. I loved the berries with the grilled fish, though I was skeptical at first to pair them, and the vegetables were so fresh and tasty. Sometimes the quick, throw-together meals are the best, aren’t they? I hope to have many more similar meals this summer, with fresh from the garden– and fresh from the sea– goodies.

Northwest Salad

  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1 T. honey (I used blackberry, as it seemed most appropriate)
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 T. white wine or champagne vinegar
  • 1/4 c. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 lb. salmon fillet, grilled with salt & pepper
  • leafy green lettuce
  • sliced garden-ripe tomato
  • handful of ripe blackberries

Mix the mustard and honey together with the salt and pepper; add the vinegar and whisk to make a paste, then continue whisking as you drizzle in the olive oil.

Arrange the washed, ripped lettuce leaves on the plates and top with slices of tomato and a handful of berries; dress the salad and then lay your portion of fish across the top. Serve immediately, preferably outdoors, and enjoy.

