Tags

, ,

I can not take credit for this recipe for overnight ice cream, though I wish I had known about this years ago– it’s SO good! So easy, no ice cream maker necessary and no churning, food processing, scraping, etc. I first saw this link from Six in the Suburbs in June and was hopeful but certainly skeptical; I since have seen versions in half a dozen places, and it’s no wonder why. After making it myself and hearing happy success stories from a few friends, I am a believer. The consistency is closer to a soft-serve ice milk than ice cream (perhaps because of my freezer?) but the taste is wonderful and there are endless possibilities for flavors and add-ins. My first batch was basic vanilla with peanut butter cups chopped up and stirred in; my next attempt will be mint chocolate chip. Peanut butter cup is my husband’s favorite, and it was his birthday, but the mint chocolate chip will be mine all mine very good, I’m sure.

As an extra birthday treat, I made homemade chocolate shell to drizzle on top. Again, I was skeptical, but this works, too! It was a happy day in my kitchen. The credit for this recipe goes to The Chubby Vegetarian– I used this recipe from his site. I bought the best chocolate bar I could find, a 70% dark bar from Theo Chocolates (put a visit to their factory on your must-do list for the next time you’re in Seattle), and thought it was perfect. Dark, rich and with that “magic” effect: it hardens into a crunchy shell coating as soon as it hits the cold ice cream. Fun for kids of all ages.

I am heading to the East Coast this week, anticipating some serious sun while I’m there, and hoping to make these treats for my family. No baking, no long stints in the kitchen, no muss, no fuss and plenty of reward.

Overnight Ice Cream (recipe from Six in the Suburbs)

  • 2 c. heavy whipping cream
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • add-ins of your choice: fruit, nuts, chocolate chips, candy pieces, etc.

That’s all the ingredients! Crazy, right? In a large bowl, whip the cream until soft peaks form; add the vanilla and gently fold in the sweetened condensed milk, trying not to deflate the air from the whipped cream but ensuring everything is well-combined. Gently fold in any fruit, nuts, chocolate, etc. you are using and transfer the mixture to a freezer-safe container that can be covered. I use a Gladware container and it works beautifully. Now for the hard part: leave it alone for at least 3 hrs., preferably overnight. It’s ready to serve as soon as it’s frozen. 🙂

Homemade Chocolate Shell (recipe from The Chubby Vegetarian)

  • one 3 – 5 oz. chocolate bar, the best quality you can get (dark works better than milk)
  • 1 T. coconut oil

Yes, I am serious. In a small glass bowl over a saucepan full of simmering water (the bottom of the bowl should not touch the water) melt the chocolate bar with the coconut oil. When you have a chocolate sauce, it is done. Spoon over cold ice cream and it will harden into a shell.

