Tags

, ,

This is the second muffin recipe I adapted to include whey. Modifying a recipe from the incomparable Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours, I made them the same day as the blueberry ones and they are just my kind of treat for breakfast. The sweetness comes primarily from maple syrup and dried fruit and the grains give them texture and flavor. I am excited by the versatility of a recipe that works with any fruit you have on hand and was thrilled to have an excuse to throw in some prunes, which I love and am not ashamed to say I love. Have you had a prune lately? Call it a dried plum if it helps, but they are really delicious, so sweet and moist. I also added dates to this batch and will try apricots and cherries next time I make some. As for the whey, I am really sold on substituting it in place of milk in quick breads and muffins; both kinds of muffins I made this week were very moist with good flavor and texture. Sometimes baking with whole grains can create a heavy or dry product and I didn’t have that problem at all. I look forward to more experimental baking with whey, and to making more of these tasty muffins.

Three Grain Muffins with Dried Fruit (adapted from Baking)

  • 1 c. flour
  • 1/3 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 c. fine cornmeal
  • 1/3 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 c. whey (or buttermilk)
  • 1/3 c. real maple syrup, grade B if you have a choice
  • 1/2 c. canola oil
  • 3/4 c. chopped dried fruit such as prunes, dates, apricots, cherries, etc. (use one or a combination of several)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Grease (or line with papers) a standard 12-well muffin pan.

In a large bowl, sift together both flours, cornmeal, oatmeal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a smaller bowl, whisk the eggs slightly and then add the whey, maple syrup and oil, stirring to combine. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the egg mixture; stir gently, just until the dry ingredients are moistened. Gently fold in the dried fruit (a lumpy batter is expected and desirable) and then divide the batter evenly to fill the muffin pan. Bake for 18-20 mins., until a toothpick inserted into one of the taller muffins comes out clean. Cool for 5-10 mins. before eating. Place in a tightly-covered container to store any left over.

