Tags

, ,

Here’s a great snack recipe, a change of pace from traditional hummus or a new possibility for you if you don’t usually care for chickpeas. I made edamame hummus for my Oscar party; it was well-received by a group with diverse tastes and my husband said (in front of other people) that he hopes I make it again. He never asks me to make more hummus, so I was thrilled. Edamame are whole soybeans, found in most grocery stores these days in the frozen foods section. You can buy them in the pod (which is both fun and how they’re traditionally served in Japanese restaurants) or shelled like peas, the kind I used for this recipe. They have a flavor somewhere between green peas and fresh lima beans and a smooth, creamy texture when blended, like a cannelini bean. I love them and we eat them often, but this was my first time making edamame hummus.

I served the dip with plain pita chips, but it would be equally good with rice crackers, carrots, celery or as a sandwich spread, essentially the same ways you eat hummus now. Edamame hummus, compared to traditional hummus, has a lighter flavor and more texture, though the latter was on purpose because I prefer it that way. If you want yours completely smooth, no worries!, just whir it a bit longer. Since it was my first-ever batch, I left it “plain” but can’t wait to try add-ins: roasted garlic and/or red pepper flakes will be next. I am going to play with using soy sauce instead of salt because I enjoy steamed edamame with soy and think the flavors will work together here, as well, and I’m thinking wasabi may make an appearance too… I promise to report back with successful tests and hope that you will tell me about your favorite flavors, for chickpea or edamame hummus. Seems like the sky is the limit here! Happy snacking.

Edamame Hummus (adapted from this recipe)

  • 1 12-oz. bag of frozen, shelled edamame
  • 5 T. roasted sesame tahini (I like Arrowhead Mills Organic; any tahini should work)
  • 4 T. water
  • 1 tsp. fresh lemon zest
  • 5 T. fresh lemon juice
  • 1 large clove of garlic, smashed
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1 tsp. cumin, freshly ground if you can
  • 1/4 tsp. ground coriander
  • 4 T. olive oil

Cook the edamame in boiling water for 4-5 mins; drain and cool slightly. In a food processor, puree the cooked edamame and all other ingredients except for the olive oil until the hummus is blended but chunky; add 3 T. of the olive oil slowly, drizzling it in if you can and adding 1 T. at a time if you can’t drizzle. Puree until you have reached your desired consistency, adding more water if needed to loosen it up. Refrigerate for several hours before making a lot of additions, as flavors will develop and change as it sits. Before serving, taste the hummus and add salt, lemon or spice to suit your preferences; drizzle with the remaining 1 T. of olive oil and serve.

