A dear friend was in town for the beginning of this week: we spent a glorious two-and-a-little-more days drinking good coffee, eating at some of my favorite restaurants, discovering wonderful new restaurants together (Barrio— who’s been?), touring a chocolate factory, and having a rollicking good time. It is difficult to live on the other side of the country from her, and though we’ve been spoiled in recent years with visits to see each other in our own cities and at my parents’ house, it is still never enough time. When we do have the chance to get together, we have a lot of catching up to do, and where better than over tea at The Crumpet Shop, or over ice cream at Molly Moon?

My time with her was precious, and I didn’t waste a minute. You may have noticed that I have been quiet absent from here, due to two factors: I was rarely home/in front of a computer and I didn’t cook at all. Crazy! It’s not that I didn’t want to cook for B, but it was fun to enjoy a little vacation of my own. But… that means that I have no new recipes to share, which was kind of a shock when I sat down to write today! I guess I could have found something, but the truth is that it’s been almost a week since I made anything more exciting than kimchi fried rice. What a weird feeling.

It seems like a perfect time to throw out a request for suggestions from you. What kind of recipes are you interested in? I can’t promise I will know how to make a turducken, or homemade puff pastry, or the exact Romanian stew you had that one time at your grandmother’s house… but I would very much like to hear about categories of recipes you want to make (soups? baked goods? marmalades?) or ingredients you like to use and would like to make in a new way. I learn so much from comments/tips/recipes from you all, and I thank you! Glad you’re reading and I’ll do my best to keep you entertained, and stocked with recipes.

