Tags

,

Peanut noodles are such a treat. I don’t make them often, but every time I do, I vow to make them once a week because they’re so tasty! (And then I don’t make them again for months, but I want to.) I’ve tried several different recipes, but finally settled on a favorite, which is the one below; a very close second place goes to this recipe from Ellie Krieger, a lighter, veggie-heavy version that comes in second only because my husband prefers the honey-sweetened sauce. Peanut noodles are super-versatile and work with soba noodles (these are incredible if you can get them) or rice noodles interchangeably. You can add broccoli, carrots, snap or snow peas, bell peppers or edamame depending on what you like and what you have on hand. They are kid-friendly, especially if you go on the lighter side of spiciness, and delicious cold as leftovers. You can throw in some cooked chicken or pork if you are looking for more protein or more substance, though I haven’t done that myself. In a pinch, I used the peanut sauce as a dip for chicken satay and it was really good, so think outside the box with this sauce. Ooh, now I’m inspired to come up with new ways to use it… maybe then I would make it as often as I want to!

Peanut Noodles

  • 4 T. peanut butter
  • 3 T. honey
  • 4 T. water
  • 2 T. soy
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 T. rice vinegar (unseasoned)
  • 1 T. sesame oil (I’ve used light and dark and liked both)
  • crushed red pepper to taste
  • 8 oz. soba or rice noodles, cooked according to package directions
  • 3/4 c. snap peas, or veggies of your choice
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into strips
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • sesame seeds for garnish (optional)

While your noodles are cooking, whisk the peanut butter, honey, water, soy sauce, garlic, rice vinegar, sesame oil & red pepper together in a small saucepan over medium-low heat until ingredients are combined and heated through.  When the noodles are cooked, drain them well and rinse under cold water, then pour into a large bowl; add snap peas/veggies, bell pepper and white parts of the green onions.  Pour the peanut sauce over the top and mix to combine; serve warm with dark tops of the green onions as garnish and sesame seeds, if using.  Otherwise, cover and refrigerate for at least 30 mins. to enjoy cold.

If you like spicier noodles, I often add 1/2 tsp. of sriracha to the peanut sauce.

