Tags

, , ,

I finally used up the puree from my roasted pumpkin.  Truth be told, I miss having it in the refrigerator and will probably roast another one in the next few days.  But it went out in style, wrapped up in warm spices in a creamy, healthful curried pumpkin soup.  My idea for this soup came from one I tasted at Poppy, a masala pumpkin soup of which I tried a single bite.  If one spoonful of soup leaves an impression three weeks later, you better believe I will try to recreate it at home!

I was nervous to serve this one to R; he is not always as excited about experimenting with flavors as I tend to be.  Indian spices in particular are hit-or-miss, but I decided to keep the soup simple and un-fussy.  The resulting meal was creamy without being too rich, warm from the curry blend and filling, important when a soup is to be a whole meal, not just a single bite.  I think he liked it more than I did, and that’s saying a lot.  I am already imagining making it again, maybe trying squash or even sweet potato in place of the pumpkin.  I could try garam masala instead of curry, or easily make a vegetarian version by replacing chicken broth with vegetable broth.  At this time of year, as the nights get darker and colder, is there anything better than a versatile soup recipe you can make in about 20 minutes?  I think not.

Curried Pumpkin Soup (serves 2-3)

  • 1 T. canola oil
  • 1/2 medium sweet onion, chopped
  • 3 tsp. curry powder*
  • 1 c. pumpkin puree
  • 2-3 c. chicken stock (more for a thinner soup)
  • 1/4 c. plain yogurt (I used Greek)
  • 1 tsp. fresh lemon juice
  • salt & pepper to taste

In a soup pot on medium, heat oil; add onions and cook 3-4 minutes, until soft and translucent.  Add curry powder and stir to coat onions, cooking another minute or so.  Add pumpkin to the pot and stir; add chicken stock.  Bring to a boil and then lower heat to a simmer and cook, uncovered, for 15 minutes.  Remove from heat and process with an immersion blender (or blender or food processor) until smooth.  Return soup to the pot if you’ve removed it and add yogurt, stirring to combine.  Heat on low just until soup is heated through.  Add lemon juice and salt & pepper to taste.  Serve with additional yogurt, if desired, and naan.

*I use a Kashmiri curry blend from World Spice, but any curry powder you enjoy should work well.

