Tags

, , , , ,

I mentioned yesterday after gushing on and on about the glory of slow-roasted tomatoes that I would post some recipes in which I used them.  Here is a recipe I threw together Tuesday night that came out better than I expected.  I hesitated at first to post it because it is another fettucine dinner and I don’t want to be typecast as The Girl With a Food Blog Who Writes Everyday About the Same Ingredients, or something.  But hey, when you cook for two, a package of fettucine goes for 3 or so meals, and if they’re good, I’m going to tell you.  Coincidentally, November 1st is World Vegan Day, and this recipe is vegan.  Look at me go!

Fettucine with Chanterelles & Slow-Roasted Tomatoes

  • 1/3 lb. fettucine, cooked to package directions
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1/2 lb. chanterelles, chopped coarsely and pat dry
  • 6-8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. dried Italian seasoning mix (dried basil or oregano would work)
  • 5 slow-roasted tomato halves, cut in strips
  • 1/4 c. green olives (I used picholine)
  • salt & pepper

Cook fettucine according to package directions and set aside.  Start the sauce as you drop the pasta into boiling water.

In a skillet on medium-high, heat the olive oil.  Add chopped chanterelles and allow to cook for 3-4 minutes.  They won’t necessarily brown, but will soften and lose a lot of liquid.  Using a slotted spoon, remove mushroom pieces from the skillet; add garlic and Italian seasoning and allow sauce to reduce for 2-3 minutes, at least.  Watch the pan carefully so it doesn’t cook dry.  When there is approximately 3/4-1 c. of sauce in the pan, add the mushrooms (and any accumulated liquid), tomatoes and olives to the pan.  Season with salt & pepper to taste.  Add drained fettucine to the skillet and toss with the sauce until coated.

