Tags

, , , , ,

Sometimes I crave things and I’m not sure why.  Often it’s the most irrational things you could imagine: buttered rice with kimchi for lunch, pasta with vinaigrette and tuna for dinner.  Weird stuff.  Some cravings are clearly my body telling me I am needing an element, a mineral, whatever you want to call it: 2 glasses of skim milk after the gym, orange juice first thing in the morning, greens for dinner.  And some cravings are just pure food lust.  Last night, I had a food lust-type craving for butterscotch.

Mmm, butterscotch.  When I was in Maine this summer, my sister mentioned that a cousin of ours is also a fan of our favorite ice cream shop, and when he goes there he always orders a sundae with pistachio ice cream and butterscotch.  Whoa.  That is hardcore.  As soon as she mentioned it, a switch flipped and all I was interested in, ice cream-wise, was butterscotch.  (I did not do the pistachio ice cream.  I am a little less adventurous than that.)  At this particular shop, the ice cream and toppings are homemade, and the butterscotch was so good!  It wasn’t cloyingly sweet and there was a rich, dark flavor that indicated it was a tried-and-true recipe.  Since then, I keep seeing butterscotch recipes I would like to try: a sauce recipe I found on Pinterest, a candy recipe I am considering making for Christmas gifts, a pudding recipe I saw on another blog yesterday.  I think the pudding was the catalyst of yesterday’s craving, and I didn’t have all the ingredients handy.  But I did have the ingredients for these cookie bars.  They are chewy and buttery with a little crisp to the crust and just enough chocolate; a great step-up from a basic chocolate chip cookie and the solution to my craving for butterscotch.

Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Bars 

adapted from this recipe

  • 1/2 c. granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c. packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 c. butter, softened
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 c. white wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 c. semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 c. butterscotch chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease an 8″ x 8″ pan.

Cream butter and sugars together until they reach the consistency of wet sand.  Add eggs, one at a time; blend thoroughly after each egg.  Add vanilla.

In a small bowl, sift together flours, baking powder and salt.  Using a wooden spoon (not the mixer), incorporate dry ingredients into the butter-sugar-egg mixture until just combined.  Add chocolate chips and butterscotch chips and mix until they are distributed evenly.  Pour batter into prepared pan; bake for 35 mins. or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool before serving.  Makes 20 bars.

