I really do want to include books as a main feature of this blog, but I am not one for traditional book reviewing.  I just don’t know what to say.  Reading is such a personal pastime and I hate the idea of coloring someone’s opinion of a book with a “formal” review.  There, I said it.  I avoid looking at reviews of any kind until I have finished a book, especially a novel.  But… I love to talk about books.  I love to look at books and look through books and look at websites about books.  I am a scattered and somewhat frenetic, though quite purposeful, author of lists regarding books: to read, to add to my library queue, to buy next time I see a copy used, to recommend to a friend, to suggest at book group, on and on and on we go.  My desk has a perpetual dusting of post-its and easily three-quarters of them have a note about a book or author.

So, how to incorporate my love of books into this site?  The quick answer is that I will talk often about buzz.  I love book gossip.  Ooh, did you see that there’s a new book out by Alexandra Fuller and it looks really good?  Did you know that Donna Tartt writes a novel once every nine years and it has been eight years since The Little Friend?  (fingers crossed, fingers crossed!)  Did you see the Booker shortlist?  In some ways, I could make the argument that I enjoy the anticipation of a book as much or more than the act of reading it.  A very dangerous statement, indeed, as I consider myself a true reader and bibliophile– books are sacred space.  But book buzz is to me as TMZ and People magazine are to someone who likes celebrity gossip.  I almost fainted the first time I discovered The Millions.

So, let’s start with some gossip, some buzz.  I am currently reading Ann Patchett’s State of Wonder; it is good not great, and it is the first of her novels I will read through.  This might shock some folks, but I like a bit more edge to my fiction, some bite.  I am almost literally salivating about the forthcoming release of The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides, which will be out on October 11th.  Oh!  How am I possibly expected to wait that long?!  I am also really looking forward to reading The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach, out now and receiving great critical praise (just because I don’t like it doesn’t mean I don’t pay attention…), and The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, billed as “if you like Geek Love, try this”.  Um, okay.

What are you buzzing about?

